Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [SOLVED] Black Screen on startup since 0.5.1

  1. #1
    Kickstarter Nomad
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    [SOLVED] Black Screen on startup since 0.5.1

    Starting up the game on steam, there is a black screen. The Planet Nomads mouse cursor is visible and can be moved, but nothing else is visible and I have to force close the application. There doesn't seem to be any error visible when starting from commandline:

    Code:
    terminal@term:~/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Planet Nomads$ ./PlanetNomads.x86_64 
    Set current directory to /home/terminal/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Planet Nomads
    Found path: /home/terminal/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Planet Nomads/PlanetNomads.x86_64
    Mono path[0] = '/home/terminal/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Planet Nomads/PlanetNomads_Data/Managed'
    Mono path[1] = '/home/terminal/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Planet Nomads/PlanetNomads_Data/Mono'
    Mono config path = '/home/terminal/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Planet Nomads/PlanetNomads_Data/Mono/etc'
    displaymanager : xrandr version warning. 1.5
    client has 4 screens
    displaymanager screen (0)(DVI-D-0): 1920 x 1080
    Using libudev for joystick management
    
    
    Importing game controller configs
    System:

    Ubuntu 16.04
    Nvidia 750Ti (Driver 375.39)
    Intel i5 2500
    Last edited by terminal; 23-04-2017 at 02:50 PM. Reason: specs

  2. #2
    Member Maslostroj (Daniel)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    899
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hello terminal, thanks for the report. Could be the four screens - not saying that's an excuse, but could be a clue to troubleshoot for us.

    Could you also attach the generated game log?

    Should be here: ~/.config/unity3d/Craneballs/PlanetNomads/Player.log
    "Well, I thought. This is how the world works. All energy flows according to the whims of the Great Magnet. What a fool I was to defy him."
    -Raoul Duke

  3. #3
    Kickstarter Nomad
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for your response. ~Unfortunately the problem no longer occurs and the log seems to get deleted after a session.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Same problem as OP:

    - Black screen on Startup
    - Cursor visible
    - nothing happens

    player.log: https://pastebin.com/KCNcwSas

    - - - Updated - - -

    engine thinks I have 3 screens but I only have one.

    Terminal Output:

    Running Planet Nomads
    Set current directory to /home/USER/Games/Planet Nomads/game
    Found path: /home/USER/Games/Planet Nomads/game/PlanetNomads.x86_64
    Mono path[0] = '/home/USER/Games/Planet Nomads/game/PlanetNomads_Data/Managed'
    Mono path[1] = '/home/USER/Games/Planet Nomads/game/PlanetNomads_Data/Mono'
    Mono config path = '/home/USER/Games/Planet Nomads/game/PlanetNomads_Data/Mono/etc'
    displaymanager : xrandr version warning. 1.5
    client has 3 screens
    displaymanager screen (0)(eDP-1): 1920 x 1080
    Using libudev for joystick management


    xrandr Output:

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3840 x 2160, maximum 8192 x 8192
    eDP-1 connected primary 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 346mm x 194mm
    3840x2160 60.00*+
    3200x1800_60.00 59.96
    2880x1620_60.00 59.96
    2560x1440_60.00 59.96
    2048x1536 60.00
    1920x1440 60.00
    1856x1392 60.01
    1792x1344 60.01
    2048x1152_60.00 59.90
    1920x1080_60.00 59.96
    1600x1200 60.00
    1400x1050 59.98
    1600x900_60.00 59.95
    1280x1024 60.02
    1280x960 60.00
    1368x768_60.00 59.88
    1280x720_60.00 59.86
    1024x768 60.04 60.00
    960x720 60.00
    928x696 60.05
    896x672 60.01
    1024x576_60.00 59.90
    960x540_60.00 59.63
    800x600 60.00 60.32 56.25
    800x600_60.00 59.86
    864x486_60.00 59.92
    700x525 59.98
    640x512 60.02
    640x480 60.00 59.94
    720x405_60.00 59.51
    640x360_60.00 59.84
    512x384 60.00
    400x300 60.32 56.34
    320x240 60.05
    DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DP-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    HDMI-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

  5. #5
    Kickstarter Alpha Nomad
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like
    I see that your log cuts off with doing controller stuff. I've seen Unity3D do massively weird things when certain controllers are plugged in (for me it's my rudder pedals that seem to break it). Could you try if it starts when you unplug them?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would if I have one plugged

    xinput
    ⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
    ⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ DLL06E4:01 06CB:7A13 Touchpad id=12 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
    ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Video Bus id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Video Bus id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=9 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Sleep Button id=10 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Integrated_Webcam_HD id=11 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Intel HID events id=13 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=14 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Dell WMI hotkeys id=16 [slave keyboard (3)]

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •