Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do seeds/IDs include monument locations?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    407
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question Do seeds/IDs include monument locations?

    Will using the same seed again or a seed for another player result in monuments being in the same locations?

    I have been enjoying my flat/water world and just finish visiting the 10 monuments, and well 9 of them are in cold/snowy locations, one is very close to the North Pole and that is not what I'm looking for right now.

    I have not decided stay with it, or not, but I was wondering IF I used the seed again would I get the same results.

    And I have been following a PN YouTuber that has a cool seed, and again I wonder if I would get monuments and wrecks in the same locations.

  2. #2
    QA Lead (Craneballs)
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yup, they should be in the same location.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks, Goose

    That is what I thinking, but it is good to know that they should be in the same location.


    P.S. I last night I tried the same seed and could see the nearest monument was in the same location, so I restarted with a new seed.
    And LOL after having too many monuments in tundra location last game, this game my start location was in the Tundra! I know this is an abnormality, but it should be a fun challenging start.
    Thanks to CB adding basic ore to nests has made this seed is playable, and with nests giving less with each harvest it adds another level of challenge.

    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...05F96ED34F10F/
    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...56052FD4481F7/
    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...D8C549F670818/
    Last edited by Casual Viking; 11-05-2018 at 02:36 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Casual Viking View Post
    Thanks, Goose

    That is what I thinking, but it is good to know that they should be in the same location.


    P.S. I last night I tried the same seed and could see the nearest monument was in the same location, so I restarted with a new seed.
    And LOL after having too many monuments in tundra location last game, this game my start location was in the Tundra! I know this is an abnormality, but it should be a fun challenging start.
    Thanks to CB adding basic ore to nests has made this seed is playable, and with nests giving less with each harvest it adds another level of challenge.

    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...05F96ED34F10F/
    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...56052FD4481F7/
    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd.n...D8C549F670818/
    I love the notion of starting in different biomes. I always seem to wind up somewhere near, be it a little north or a little south of the equator. I'd more than welcome a start in a vastly more inhospitable biome.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    407
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Indigo View Post
    I love the notion of starting in different biomes. I always seem to wind up somewhere near, be it a little north or a little south of the equator. I'd more than welcome a start in a vastly more inhospitable biome.
    Hmm? Having a starting location difficulty option in planet creation settings would add to the game and encourage replay. It could adjust biome and amount of wreckage.
    FYI: If you die and select new spawn pod, you can end up in some very hostile locations.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Casual Viking View Post
    Hmm? Having a starting location difficulty option in planet creation settings would add to the game and encourage replay. It could adjust biome and amount of wreckage.
    FYI: If you die and select new spawn pod, you can end up in some very hostile locations.
    I very much try to make a habit out of Not Dying... ever since that bug that caused every active block to delete... respawned at my half-an-empty base, was not amused. Granted, early access, pre-release build, but still... ouch. Don't want to do that again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •