Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 0.8.10.1 Conveyor will not connect

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like

    Angry 0.8.10.1 Conveyor will not connect

    Game Version: 0.8.10.1
    OS: Windows 10 64-bit

    Simple Description:
    Conveyors will not connect

    Detailed Description:
    When building a line of conveyors they will randomly connect only at one end so that containers at either end will not see each other
    (update) Also is happening when I place a stack of containers together!
    (update) When repairing a mis-connected conveyor other conveyors which were connected will randomly disconnect !!!!

    Diagram:
    C1--C2--C3--C4

    (a) container 1 can see containers 2 and 3 but not 4
    (b) replace the conveyor between C3 and C4
    (c) Container 1 no longer sees container 2 which now sees 3 and 4

    Reproducibility:
    Every time

    How to Reproduce:
    Place a row of conveyors together and nothing will pass though

  2. #2
    QA Lead (Craneballs)
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by poodle666 View Post

    Diagram:
    C1--C2--C3--C4

    (a) container 1 can see containers 2 and 3 but not 4
    (b) replace the conveyor between C3 and C4
    (c) Container 1 no longer sees container 2 which now sees 3 and 4
    weird... I can't reproduce it. Can you send me your save? Thanks

    Does anyone else have this problem ?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Where do I find the game save?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by poodle666 View Post
    Where do I find the game save?
    https://forum.planet-nomads.com/thre...ull=1#post5561

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Germany, Nuernberg
    Posts
    60
    Post Thanks / Like
    In 0.8.7 I had kinda simular problem, when building a car with a lot of connected containers. As soon I removed the jack (so the car became indepentant grid) all container lost connection and only show-up as one each. after disamble them all and rebuild them they behave like normal and stay like this. So I belive it is related to grid dividing.
    I didn't check if it happens since then and if this is still vaild or already fixed. sorry

    edit: Maybe I should mentaion the the car was build on a fundation wihci is part of my main base, the work around I got told form somebody is to build the car on dirt so it is not part of base grid from the beginning.
    Last edited by Xaver; 24-03-2018 at 06:03 PM.

  6. #6
    Member bigdadda06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    119
    Post Thanks / Like
    I gave this a quick test and it seemed to work OK for me.
    https://youtu.be/FV2C3DavtHQ

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Update: It is a directional issue. If I am building a stack to connect multiple floors then must start from the bottom up. Also still getting the issue where conveyors look like they are joined but they are not. :(

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by poodle666 View Post
    ...
    When building a line of conveyors they will randomly connect only at one end so that containers at either end will not see each other...

    Reading the description provided by Poodle, I was wandering how the latest update might influence things.
    I thought I will test the 100m limit added by the recent update, which freezes vehicles.
    Is the Conveyor Connector affected by the 100m limit?
    Anyway, I am happy that I tested way before reaching the 100m limit because actually the conveyor connector doesn't work properly even at lower distance.
    I guess I saw already some reports about it somewhere even before the 0.8.10 update. Here is my test.
    https://youtu.be/KaCtmVw-FgE

    @poodle666: were you using Conveyor Connectors too?

  9. #9
    QA Lead (Craneballs)
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Menzagitat View Post

    I guess I saw already some reports about it somewhere even before the 0.8.10 update. Here is my test.
    https://youtu.be/KaCtmVw-FgE
    Do you still have this save?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    I provided my save but I am not sure if my problem is the same with the one reported by poodle.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi,
    I'm usung Linux V0.8.10.1 and I had a similar issue yesterday.
    C=Container, EX=ExteriorWallConnector, SC=StraightConveyor, TC=TrippleConveyor, 6C=6PointConveyor, MR=MiningRig

    As I started it was: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-TC-SC-SC-MR (C see MR, so far OK)
    I removed the TC and place a 6C: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC-MR (C does not see MR)
    I removed TC connected from the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C SC-SC(felt to ground)
    I removed the dual-SC and reconnect towards the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC-MR(C does not see MR)
    sadly I removed the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC
    and re-added the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC-MR (C see MR, so far OK)

    Cu
    Alrik

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    Alrik, I will add numbers to your steps to be able to reference them:

    1. As I started it was: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-TC-SC-SC-MR (C see MR, so far OK)
    2. I removed the TC and place a 6C: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC-MR (C does not see MR)
    3. I removed TC connected from the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C SC-SC(felt to ground)
    4. I removed the dual-SC and reconnect towards the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC-MR(C does not see MR)
    5. sadly I removed the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC
    6. and re-added the MR: C-SC-EX-SC-SC-6C-SC-SC-TC-MR (C see MR, so far OK)


    I assume the MR was planted deep into the ground. The ground was supporting the MR in step 2 and 3 while you was changing the intermediate segments.
    The game has a weakness (and people were reporting this behavior you mention) that conveyors, even if apparently are connected to each other, they actually belong to different pieces. These glued together pieces they call "grids". (you may search on internet for "unity grid" and see what comes up)

    The Player was supposed to build the entire section starting from C, step by step, and the last piece to place was supposed to be MR.
    The problems are:
    1. The player gets no information that he must build everything from one side to the other side in one piece
    2. If the player makes everything correctly and builds the structure in one piece, once he want to replace a SC with a TC to make a branch, he breaks the "grid" in two grids and one end will not see the other one anymore.
    3. The player gets no feedback from the game that something is not correct - visually everything seems nice and compact

    The solution was to add to the game the so called "Conveyor Connectors" which you can see in my post before: https://youtu.be/KaCtmVw-FgE
    Those you have to use to "connect" two segments again. You can imagine the items jumping from one "Conveyor Connector" to the other one nearby.

    Anyway, the problem is that even if we have now "Conveyor Connectors" in the game to solve this problem, the player has no idea why we have them and he will have the same expectation as before. The game has such misleading behaviors: wrecks being loaded 2km away gives peculiar updates, air blades rotate but provide no force on a beam supported by rotating plates unless you are in a cockpit, flying vehicles oscillate up and down when you reduce height, autosave is being destroyed when you die, the building window has an X button which is not closing the window but clears the input text field...

    I guess all of these problems are on the to-do list to be improved/solved in a way or another.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    I actually found what the problem that causes this and it happens to water wells (WW) as well. I saw this during one of my streams, seems that the physics engine moves the MR or WW ever so slightly when disconnecting a conveyor part in the middle. This causes a slight misalignment of the conveyor. It makes it look like it's connected but it isn't. If you look closely at the part that was replaced, sometimes you can see a really small gap. I found a work around for it. Remove everything beyond the part of the conveyor you initially removed including the MR or WW and simply rebuild it. So if the PN devs want to recreate this almost every single time, that's how you go about it.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by LancerSolurus View Post
    I actually found what the problem that causes this and it happens to water wells (WW) as well. I saw this during one of my streams, seems that the physics engine moves the MR or WW ever so slightly when disconnecting a conveyor part in the middle. This causes a slight misalignment of the conveyor. It makes it look like it's connected but it isn't. If you look closely at the part that was replaced, sometimes you can see a really small gap. I found a work around for it. Remove everything beyond the part of the conveyor you initially removed including the MR or WW and simply rebuild it. So if the PN devs want to recreate this almost every single time, that's how you go about it.
    LancerSolurus, this in a problem which was known since long time. Possibly from the beginning of the game.
    Developers explain patiently each time using the fancy "grid" word that conveyors work only if they are part of the same piece.
    If you remove a conveyor section to replace it with another one, even if both sides are fixed to the ground, they will be technically two pieces afterwards.
    After many months, because people were asking for a solution, they added the "Conveyor Connectors" which I mentioned above. These are something like "teleporters" from one grid to another.
    But even with this solution, people do not know about these technical problems and why the "Conveyor Connectors" was added and they repeat the same mistake.

    What do you think they should do to make it evident to the player, even if he is a 6 year old child, that the conveyor is not working anymore and he must repair it with "Conveyor Connectors"?
    There must be some solution...

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Add lighting. The wireless conveyor connectors already do this when attached, so it should be possible to have a light come on a standard conveyor piece if and only if every access point on the connector is connected to the same grid. Alternately, a smaller light around the rim of each connection terminus can show the connection status of that connection.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •