Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [HIGH PRIORITY] flying base collision model bug after loading savegame

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    [HIGH PRIORITY] flying base collision model bug after loading savegame

    Hey, let me start by saying that I really like Planet Nomads and building is a lot of fun. Anyway I discovered an important bug and I hope, there is no double posting here. I searched for it but didn't find any similar problem:

    1. I built a flying base and landed it, connected it to conveyors and miners by using the different-grid conveyor connector (picture1)

    2. The collision model for the base is not working after a savegame load or after I approach it again (having been far away). I can either walk through walls or get stuck in front of it. If I use the mining tool when stuck, it seems like it is mining rock, however, nothing happens. Further, I cannot access the machines inside the base although they keep running (picture2 & 3).

    3. If I succeeded to disconnect it from the conveyors on the outside, the base rapidly shifts its location by a few meters and gets either stuck in the ground or flips and bumps away. Now, the collision model of the base works again (picture4)

    I have to add, I "grounded" the base with some blocks, hoping to solve the issue. That means, I just added some blocks to the base leading into the ground instead of just landing it. It still doesn't work. If I do not "ground" the base, it is immediately stuck inside the ground after loading the savegame, but with a correct collision model (see bulletpoint 3).
    Unfortunately this bug seriously impedes the gameplay.

    Thanks guys and keep up the good work!

    1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg

    Game Version: 0.8.9.1
    My System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
    Core i5 2500K
    16 GB RAM DDR3
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

  3. #3
    Member Cypher091's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Game Version: 0.8.9.1
    OS: Windows 10
    Simple Description: Collision model for the flying base not synced
    Detailed Description:
    Collision model for the flying base not synced making the flying base unusable. Disconnecting the vehicle from the terrain, or sleeping in a statis chamber does re-sync everything but will result in vehicle being moved and sometime in to the ground.
    Reproducibility: Everytime
    How to Reproduce: How it starts I don't know; however it does occur every time I load my save (file included)
    Any additional information: https://youtu.be/atrJiojNkWE (shows results)
    Log file: https://pastebin.com/bD5LB8gS
    Save Files: https://www.dropbox.com/s/0ga552fufb...anetNomads.zip
    Spec:
    Memory: 32768MB RAM
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4820K CPU @ 3.70GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
    DirectX Version: DirectX 12

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    This kind of behavior was added in 0.7.5.1

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Short update for Game version 0.8.10 on this issue:
    The collision model is now synced for flying base after the savegame has been loaded. Still, the base keeps jumping out of it's original place when grounded (few meters maybe) during the savegame load. That makes a permanent connection to conveyors impossible.

  6. #6
    Member Cypher091's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Game version: 0.8.10.1
    If flying base NOT attached to the ground just landed, the collision mesh and model are aligned; but the ship will move in few meters (Like Aumtatot said)
    If flying base IS attached to the ground the collision mesh and model are not aligned and all sorts of 'fun' happens I turned back back on my ship and it re-synced floating in the air with the blades off. http://prntscr.com/isxy3s

    and If you have a base that was connected to the ground and is not floating (like my screenshot) when you save and load it moves but the collision mesh and model stay aligned.

    So far my 'work around' has been to get the flying base hovering hop in to the stasis chamber and the save. So far have not had too many problem with this method other then the ship jumps a few meters ahead leaving my small flier behind on the ground. :P
    Last edited by Cypher091; 18-03-2018 at 06:10 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like
    Today a report from Steam:
    http://steamcommunity.com/workshop/d...68687329459002

    This kind of behavior I say was introduced in 0.7.5.1 after a solution/hack which solved an even bigger problem for some people:
    https://twitter.com/PlanetNomads/sta...66057702756353

    I wonder what the technical explanation is.

  8. #8
    QA Lead (Craneballs)
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Menzagitat View Post
    Today a report from Steam:
    http://steamcommunity.com/workshop/d...68687329459002

    This kind of behavior I say was introduced in 0.7.5.1 after a solution/hack which solved an even bigger problem for some people:
    https://twitter.com/PlanetNomads/sta...66057702756353

    I wonder what the technical explanation is.
    It's a known bug but we don't know what's causing it at this moment. I'll let you know when we find out.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm seeing the same behavior with a large cargo flyer that I built. A couple of additional notes that might help the debug efforts:

    1) the ship moves regardless of whether it is parked on ground or on a base foundation;
    2) the ship moves regardless of whether the large airblades are turned on or off;
    3) the ship moves even if it is connected to the ground with a jack;
    4) after reloading a game save, the ship's visual and collision model sync up but the ship has moved, often both vertically and horizontally from its last position;
    5) the effect is cumulative so that each time you leave the area, the ship moves a few blocks further.

    This doesn't seem to be happening with all of my ships, just the large cargo flyer.

    BTW-The ship affected uses 18 large airblades, 4 uranium generators, more than 400 small containers, conveyor sections, conveyor connectors, wireless conveyors, armor blocks (cubes), a medium FAD, stasis pod, radar, 2x3 rounded cab and vehicle lights.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •